Why being bored is scary.

So the other day I’m plugging along through a slow week at work, and thinking about how I got super lazy this summer. I basically replaced all workouts (save bike riding frequently) with white wine. And while this has been great fun, the waist line is starting to feel it a little bit. Also I miss my exercise endorphins, as judge ALL you want, there is nothing like them. 

I’m poking around on the internet when a friend pings (IMs) me on our work chat system. “Hey, what do you know about triathlons?” Ok, maybe more than say your average Joe, but I trained for one, once, and it was a sprint tri. 1/2 mile swim, 12 mile bike, 3.2 mile run, all done in under two hours. I was nannying so there was plenty of time to train, and i did so for about 1-1.5 hours per day 5-6 days/wk. I had a training plan but I didn’t even own a bike until three weeks before the tri (which I ended up falling off of). So I pass along what I know and recommend some sites I have perused. 

Image

 

( Triathlon, Western MA, Summer 2011 )

Then, I think, why aren’t I racing this summer? I have been biking like 40-50 mile weeks and I can get the swimming back fast. And the run? Who trains the run? Just bust that shit out at the end. Then, I lose my mind slightly more, sprint triathlons, those trix are for kids. I am going to race an olympic triathlon, the last one of the season, that happens to be 62 days from today. That’s enough time to train, right?

Holy crap batman. I am going to die. Not only am I going to die, but it’s going to be a first class struggle to (a) cross the finish line and (b) cross in under four hours because there is a time limit. So pretty much any time I want to watch TV in the next months, I should be training. I want to sleep in until 7am before work, I should be training. I have been told that a 1 mile swim, 26 mile bike and 6 mile is going to be no walk in the park. And that’s why they invented coffee and cliff bars my friends.

So training began Sunday with an easy 2.5 mile run, followed by 20 minutes of swimming on Monday. And today is a rest day because I have work til 730 and then dinner plans. (Yes, white wine is replacing training for one day this week… ok maybe two… who trains on a friday!).

As you know this blog is all sorts of random so expect to see some stories about me whining about running a mile and treating myself to chocolate after every training session. I am sure you will enjoy cheerleader/accountant takes on Olympic triathlon with only 60 days to train. I know I will. 

 

 

XO

~ by Meels on Wheels on July 30, 2013.

2 Responses to “Why being bored is scary.”

  1. so freaking cool!!!! can’t wait to hear about it

Leave a Reply

 
