Eats and Feats ( deux )

Everyone needs to go out and buy Aunt Jemima’s Just Add Water Pancake Mix. I know all you clean eaters and paleo people are crying at the thought of this but it is the best. First of all, how often do you go to bake something and not have milk? Lately this happens to me a lot. My doctor thinks I’m lactose intolerant, Alyssia (my nurse :)) has called me lactose limited. In other words, I have lactose products and don’t die, but I don’t always feel my best. Therefore, for now I stealing small pieces of cheese and hoping I grow “out” of this thing… like I grew “into” it for the last year.

Something that is semi-OK for the lactose limited:

Eats

Onion, Bacon, Brocoli and Spinach Tart

  • refrigerated rolled piecrust (from a 15-ounce package)
  • slices bacon, cut crosswise into 1/4-inch slices
  • cups baby spinach
  • 1 Cup Brocoli
  • 1 onion
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon dried thyme
  • eggs
  • 1/4 teaspoon black pepper
  • 1/4 cup shredded cheese (I used white, sharp cheddar)

Directions

1. Heat oven to 375 degrees F.

2. Heat a large nonstick skillet over medium heat. Add bacon to skillet and cook, stirring often, for 8 minutes. Add spinach to skillet and cook 1 minute, stirring until wilted. Using a slotted spoon, remove bacon mixture to a paper-towel-lined plate.

3. Return skillet to medium heat and add onions, 1/4 teaspoon salt and the thyme. Add brocoli and cook for about 7-10 minutes, broccoli should be softened.

4. Whisk together eggs, pepper and the remaining 1/2 teaspoon salt. Stir everything into the egg mixture and pour into the pie crust.  Bake at 375 degrees F for 15 minutes. Reduce heat to 325 degrees F and continue to bake 20 minutes.

5. Add cheese. Cook for a few minutes until melted.

photo (8)

Feats.

Yesterday morning I rode my bike to work! It was certainly tough since I am not used to riding and i had a lot of extra weight on the bike. All in all, it took me forty five minutes to go 7 miles! Um, people run faster than that. Womp. I mean, even I have run 5 miles in forty six minutes. So, needless to say, I am hoping this improves over time. I will be riding home this afternoon to break up all the riding. This gives me about 28 miles a week.

IMG_0405

XO
~ by Meels on Wheels on April 18, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
