Transition

It seems like everyone I know is in transition right now. Since the majority of my friends just graduated from college, many of them have moved to new cities and most of them have started their first real jobs. However even those I know who aren’t in this obvious college – real world transition are changing their lives. My mom recently moved out of Massachusetts for the first time in her life to Atlanta. My brother Samir (who is 20) started UMASS Boston this week, his third college, and hopefully one that will stick. I have a few friends who recently changed jobs after one or two years post the college transition. As for me, this is my last weekday to myself.

I start a job on Monday. Like a real one. No I will not be chasing down kids as a babysitter or chasing down college freshman as a teaching assistant. No longer will by everyday wardrobe consist of my brother’s old sweatpants, a camisole and my hair going wild behind my sporty headband. Most of my time in this outfit was spent studying, however this week I am solely being part housewife, part sick in bed. I have to get up at 6am (ew), get dressed in clothes that have buttons and zippers, eat breakfast and get my butt to the metro. 

I am really excited about the work part of work and the money part of work. What I worry about is the home life. I have been able to structure my schedule so that trips to safeway can be done during the middle of the day when no one is there and the gym can be fit in at any time of day. These days are gone. The idea of waking up for the gym at 5:30 not only scares me because I hate that time of the morning, but scares me because I know I won’t do it. I enjoy mornings, but I refuse to start a morning before six. The nervous part of this transition comes in here, it’s changing my whole lifestyle. For example, I bet I could get up at six and easily fit in a 30 minute workout since my gym is in the basement and still have time for a healthy breakfast etc. It’s just not what I am used to. 

*

A few days ago, I asked myself why am I blogging? I think it is for times like these when I know other people feel this way. It’s simply to share. 

Image

( Weekend bike riding … hopefully not lost in transition )

XO

~ by Meels on Wheels on September 7, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
