My Mother’s Daughter

I think this has something to do with being an Arab, but I love cook and I love even more to “entertain”. I love having people over for dinner and I was always the one to have big get togethers in high school, when my basement was twice the size as my apartment. We are all like that in my family. It is not unusual for my family to roll off the beach around 6 in Cape Cod and have thirty people over an hour later. It’s pretty natural. My Dad loves it. He loves grilling, throwing on a good radio station and hearing our house fill with a ton of noise (did I mention we are loud and I have four siblings?). It’s the same in my Mom’s family. At my house growing up, we always had a million kids at our house digging through our snack cabinet (it’s quite famous in my hometown). My Aunt does a “run through” of thanksgiving dinner a week before thanksgiving. So yes, I eat thanksgiving three times. It’s OK to be jealous.

The reason I was inspired to write this post is I decided to make my Mom’s rice this week. It’s a simple rice pilaf recipe that is a nice substitute to Near East since it is less salty and pretty much just as easy to make. Of course, when I make it… IT NEVER TASTES THE SAME AS HERS. Forgot about trying to copy my Sitty’s (grandmother), I can’t even get Mom’s right. However, if you would like to attempt it, and since you don’t have a bias.. here are the instructions.

1. Grab a pot, put on medium-high heat and add enough butter to cover the bottom, probably about 2-3 tablespoons.

2. Add the egg noodles (found in rice section usually on bottom shelf). You need to brown them. Don’t walk away! They brown fast and you want to stir them around to make sure they brown evenly.

Image

3. Add one cap of chicken broth and one to one half cups of water. Add two cups on rice and bring to a boil.

Image

4. It should like something like this. As my thai thai (great grandmother) would say. Turn it off and she will finish cooking herself. Also, every pot has its cover (in Arabic)… but that’s a topic for another day.

Image

Anyways, this stuff can be mixed with anything. My favorite combo is to heat it up and then add tabouleh. I’ll get to the tabouleh some other time.

Plus, doesn’t this look awesome too?

Image

Image

And remember… just because you are in college or recently left, does not mean you should be eating mac n cheese from a box! Also spend some time with your family and friends! I miss mine! (Studying sucks!)

XO

~ by Meels on Wheels on August 2, 2012.

5 Responses to “My Mother’s Daughter”

  1. Exactly how my family makes it too. Reminds me of home. Want to know what i think of when I think of your family? Your dad’s homemade chicken fingers that my sister still requests every time we are home. Yep.

  2. i couldn’t love you more if i tried.
    xo

  3. If you are able to make it like your Mom, then it must be delicious! Hers always is! I make it too, I brown the egg noodles (or use angel hair pasta broken up) in 3/4 stick butter, (you are right, browns fast!); then add the rice and water. I don’t use chicken broth but must try it! My family loves it. Now, taboleuh, you got me on that one, Never made it. I just ask Nece or Dena to make it! lol
    muwahhh!

Leave a Reply

 
