Somebody left the gate open, you know we got lost on the way

So you may or may not recognize these lyrics from the Citi bank commercial where the lady climbs up to the top of the mountain on a trip she used with her citi points instead of getting the “real rock” (read: engagement ring). Anyways, I am all for breaking tradition, but the rock is one I particularly like thus I won’t be jumping at the chance to trade it for a crazed hiking trip. (Try as I might, I wasn’t exactly built for wild outdoor adventures). Embarrassing as it may be, Matt and I frequently sang along to this commercial when it was aired and now like to bring it up on youtube to relive all its glory from time to time.

I just really like the lyrics, and for some reason it is turning into my summer anthem:

How do we how do we not fade
How do we how do we how do
We not fade away
How do we how do we ooooooooh
Into the wild
How are we living living living
Into the wild
How are we living living living

You really just need to listen to it. Plus this is who sings it, cool right?

Like I definitely had that hair way back when…

Obviously kept a pick on hand at all times. Anyways, the song, summer… what this post is about. There are always those songs that are blasted in my car driving around my home town or Cape Cod with the windows down because the AC has been broken since purchase. This is turning into one of those songs. As I explore the city more and more, it makes me remember to take it all in. Today I walked through Kalorama and Dupont Circle after dropping off the girl I babysit at a birthday party. It was amazing just to take in the afternoon commute home for so many working city people. Restaurants were starting to fill up, a dozen buses passed me in a mere ten minute walk. No headphones, no cell phone, just city (Ok, I admit there was some texting).

View from potential new apartment..

From the Georgetown Waterfront, 6/5

On The Key Bridge, 6/17

Enjoy your city or town.

XO

~ by Meels on Wheels on June 20, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
