2:15 In so many ways

Thessalonians 2:15

So then, brothers, stand firm and hold to the teachings we passed on to you, whether by word of mouth or by letter.

Since attending Easter mass, my religious tendencies have increased. I was always a fairly devout follower, although religion did not mix much with my daily life or views at all. I am pro choice, pro gay marriage, pro liberal almost anything. Luckily, being a member of the Methodist church and attending the Congregational in my town growing up, they were more lenient to these views. In high school, my church began to allow gay marriage since it is legal in Massachusetts where I grew up. For the most part though, skipping a Sunday and my refusal to go through the confirmation process at age 13 were A-OK. Once I went to college there was no one to go to church with and those Sundays spent with my dad became sacred in their own way. Now I am “one of those” that attend on Easter and Christmas and the occasional Sunday with my Sitti (grandmother in Arabic). The church urges me to attend, and yet even though I want to, I don’t

This past week I traveled to Daytona, FL with my cheerleading team to compete at Cheer College Nationals. We compete in a intermediate Co-Ed division and last year we did fairly well, placing among the middle of the pack. Considering the program has only been competing for three years before this one, this is quite a success. Many of the students in our program take a full class schedule, have a job or internship and manage to cheer 25-30 per week. Unlike many of the state schools where these cheerleaders eat, sleep and breathe their routines, we have other priorities. Additionally, we have had three different coaches in my four years of the program, this year being our weakest. Nevertheless, my goal (as it has been every year) was to do better than the year before. 

Unfortunately, that didn’t happen. 2 minutes and 15 seconds on the mat with hours and hours of practice poured into it, to come out last. I won’t go into the gory details and the cheerleading jargon surrounding why this happened, but it comes down to about two or three factors: poor coaching, 12 freshman on the team and loss of motivation. The third one is the one that gets me. The third one is the factor we had control over from day one. There is no getting ahead without motivation, ambition and those two things spiral into hard work somewhere down the line. I worry that this attitude will carry over to next year. I suppose this is where I tie together the Jesus talk and the cheerleading: “So then, brothers, stand firm and hold to the teachings we passed on to you, whether by word of mouth or by letter”. I hope they take what we (the three seniors making up 3/4 upperclassmen) have taught them. Fortunately, we get to stick around, Jesus was not as lucky. I have watched so many of these 18 year olds grow up this year and I don’t want to see them lose the heart that is behind this team fighting for every inch of their program and every dollar that will take us to nationals. 

*

I spent a lot of time crying after I accepted our trophy for last place. I spent a lot of time drinking. I knew I would come back to DC and feel 100 times better once I had left the land of cheerleading. Then I came home and flipped through the recent posts on one of my favorite blogs and found this:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=F2nU5jTva3Y

Hold to the teachings we passed on to you.

XO

~ by Meels on Wheels on April 18, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
