Unprocessed Food

The topic that has been dominating my life for the last eight days is unprocessed foods. Due to my love for pinterest, I have found many blogs on food that I now follow. I am very interested in meal planning even though many people typically associate this with families. Meal planning is literally perfect for college students and I am happy I have started to pick up some tips from other bloggers. With an unprocessed diet, meal planning is essential. Last week I used the crock pot to make Chicken Enchilada Soup and Minestrone Soup. I also made a large batch of homemade rice as well as cutting up fruits and vegetables for snacks.

I personally have been following the rules based on this blog: http://www.100daysofrealfood.com/. She encourages everyone to try a ten day challenge, which is why I originally decided to drop essentially everything that comes from a box, bag, or container. You cannot have juice, soda, candy, treats, chips, anything white, bread unless it is homemade, anything you bought frozen among other things. The first two days essentially result in major headaches as you withdraw from the all the processed and added sugar found in these products. After that, it is mostly avoiding eating out, snacking and the urge to eat semi-old valentine’s day candy.

Now, there are some things I want to maintain longer than than the ten days. I am officially ditching white pasta. The whole wheat does not taste that different and when mixed with sauce I find I can hardly tell the difference. I am going to continue to stay away from juice and snacks. You can have popcorn, cheese and triscuits and homemade granola bars, oh yeah and apples, bananas carrots etc. It has been hard but I think I will really see the impact if I keep it up.

Except for Thursday. On day 11, I am eating a bagel.Image

~ by Meels on Wheels on February 27, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
